Sprache wählen


GfeW is the world's oldest association of experimental economists. If there is such a thing as tradition in this field, then GfeW can claim it for itself! But age is no contrast to modernity and freshness. The society tries to create a forum on which young scientists can find opportunities to gain experience in exchange among themselves and with 'old hands'. The aim is to further establish experimental research as an important methodology of economics.

Therefore, the company strives to improve the conditions for successful experimental research wherever possible. It is also part of GfeW's self-image to be an association of German-speaking experimental economists. Therefore, the conference language of GfeW is German. This does not mean a rejection of the internationality of research. On the contrary, GfeW is networked with ESA, maintains contact with international organisations and endeavours to promote participation in international conferences.

GfeW is very leanly organized. The management board consists of three persons (chairman, deputy, managing director) and is elected every three years by the general meeting. A GfeW conference takes place annually, which serves for internal communication, the exchange of experiences and the maintenance of personal contacts.

Management board of the German Association for Experimental Economic Research e. V.

Prof. Dr. Joachim Weimann (President)
Prof. Dr. Abdolkarim Sadrieh (Vice president)
Prof. Dr. Martin Fochmann (Director)

History of the German Association for Experimental Economic Research e. V.

Foundation of the company by Heinz Sauermann
Registered at the district court Königstein on 06/16/19771
Otwin Becker, Rudolf Richter, Heinz Sauermann, Reinhard Selten,
Reinhard Tietz, Horst Todt, Ulrike Vidmajer und Hans Jürgen Weber
1977-1981 Professor Dr. Dr. h. c. Heinz Sauermann
1982-1995 Professor Dr. Reinhard Tietz
1995-1999 Professor Dr. Werner Güth
1999-2004 Professor Dr. Dr. Marlies Ahlert
2004-2006 Professor Dr. Axel Ockenfels
since 2006 Professor Dr. Joachim Weimann
Honorary presidents
1999-2016 Professor Dr. Dr. h. c. mult. Reinhard Selten